my $35 phone call to India

I recently returned from India. On my way there, I had a lengthy stopover in Athens, Greece. I wanted to make a phone call to my girlfriend in Madras, India but couldnt find a calling card in the airport. Well, I wasnt really looking. So, I went over to the pay phone, thinking it cant cost me more than a few bucks to call. Sure enough, there was company that allowed me to call, pay by credit card, costing $4.99 per minute. Since I was gonna speak for just one minute, this seemed fine to me as any calling card would’ve been more expensive. Yes, I would have had more minutes, but it didnt seem worth the search.

So, I talk to an operator, and place my call. And it gets disconnected in like 40 seconds. But since I had said whatever I had to say, I didnt bother. A few days later, I check my credit card statement. And there’s a $35 charge, saying “call from greece”

I was puzzling over it, thought it was a mistake. then called them up. and realized this is how they work. googling about them – BBG Communications, I found lots of people with similar stories like mine. Check this link out. I tried to register a complaint, tried to talk to my bank. But couldnt. So, I left it, thinking I would give it one last shot after returning here. So, I call the call centre guy from the US, about 20 days ago. And he says I got charged $5 per minute, with a min. of 5 minutes, plus a $10 fee for talking with the operator. None of this was explained to me before, during my phone call. And the only way I could pay was by talking with an operator, coz the pay phone didnt allow me. I was shocked, but I decided to keep going, in a vain attempt to save my money. I said my call got disconnected after 40 seconds which “voids” the transaction, and maybe I should get some of my money back. And the guy coolly says “No, the other party disconnected”. Which they didnt, but I cant prove that. And whatever I say, he says those are the terms and I should have known them when I called. (Un)fortunately, I let off a few complimentary words. And this guy takes it all normally, coz am sure there’s loads of people like me who have been swindled, and he’s handled. And till this moment, I wasnt gonna do anything. Just take it without a sound. But hey, whats the point of blogs and all this crap if I dont try to do something about it.

So, if you are traveling, and you want to make a phone call – get a calling card. If you see the name BBG Communications ANYWHERE, run away. Dont bother reading beyond this, am just gonna add some stuff for Google to cache.

BBG Communications. International phone call. Cheats. Scam. Liar. Swindle. Bad. Horrible. BBG Communications. bbgusa.com. unethical. cheat.jpg

About this entry